RACC Thanks Retiring Republican Representatives

The Republican Assembly Campaign Committee would like to thank the retiring Republican members of the Wisconsin State Legislature for their leadership and service to our state.  The Republican Assembly majority saying farewell to five amazing public servants:  Speaker Jeff Fitzgerald of Horicon, Representative Michelle Litjens of Vinland, Representative. Dan Meyer of Eagle River, Representative Dick Spanbauer of Oshkosh and Representative Karl Van Roy of Green Bay. Collectively serving 40 years for the state, Wisconsin is losing a group of dedicated legislators who worked hard for their constituents and the taxpayers throughout the state.

These five legislators played an important role in the historic 100th session of the Wisconsin State Legislature.  The biggest accomplishment was helping to turn around the course of the state’s financial future.  Under the effective leadership of Speaker Fitzgerald, the assembly enacted a series of reforms to move Wisconsin forward.  These reforms helped save Wisconsin residents more than $1 billion and gave school districts and municipalities the flexibility to balance their own budget.  In addition, these lawmakers helped balanced the state budget and eliminate a $3.6 billion deficit.

These legislators focused on reviving the state’s economy and passed more than 50 laws to help spur job creation.  They made Wisconsin the 49th state to allow a person to carry a concealed weapon.  These lawmakers also passed important Voter ID legislation to ensure the integrity of our election cycle.  Most importantly, they worked tirelessly for the taxpayer.  Property taxes decreased statewide for the first time in 12 years.

The Republican Assembly Campaign Committee would like to express its gratitude to these great retiring members and wish them well in their future endeavors.